Books I Brought to College

Just so everyone knows, I am in the process of creating a dorm tour for the blog but it’s proving to be a much more in depth post than I originally thought.

SO, I thought I would do this little post to tie over the time before I post that one.

Last year, I brought so many books to college. Somehow, in my mind, I believed that I would actually have time to read all of them. HA. HA.

This year I decided to assess how much time I really spent reading and not on my laptop and decided on the key books that I love, or need to finish reading.

img_8332

Beginning from top to bottom:

  1. That nice little black book is my journal. For the longest time I did not know what to actually write in a journal, but I think I have the hang of it now. I’ve filled it with concert tickets, train tickets, museum guides, and all things in between. Next to each stub I write a short little anecdote about my time that day so I can remember it again, and again, and again, and again and so on and so forth.

img_8356

2. How to Live Like a Lady: This book was given to me by my grandparents in a care package during my first year of college. As much as I joked with my friends about it, it’s actually a great book. It’s filled with advice for job interviews, dating, dressing for the right events, etc.

img_8357

3. Meal in a Mug: This cookbook was given to my by my Aunt and I have to admit that I have not used it yet… Sure I’ve done the simple cookie in a cup (who hasn’t) but more of the complicated recipes I haven’t attempted, and don’t really know if I ever will. Nevertheless, I brought the book incase my mind ever changes.

img_8358

4. That thin little book right underneath is a small coloring book I got for Christmas. Not really that interesting but it is nice to use when I get stressed out or want to relax.

5. How to be Parisian Wherever You Are: THIS BOOK. I’m actually obsessed with this book and if you haven’t read it, I highly suggest you go out and read it. It’s filled with little stories, lists, places to go in Paris, recipes, and Parisian etiquette. Just wow. I want to change my entire personality for the better (or possibly worse) after reading just one page of this amazing book.

img_8363

6. Alexa Chung, It: I said this in my last post too, but this is another must read book. It’s filled with short stories and ramblings from Alexa Chung about her life, childhood, career and thoughts. The pictures are beautiful and you can read the entire thing in under an hour.

img_8361

7. Color Your Way to Calm; Secret Paris: Another coloring book! This one I’ve actually started and let me tell you, IT CALMS YOU. The pages in the book are so cute and I honestly wish I used more of my time coloring than on my computer.

img_8364

8. Harper’s Bazaar September Issue: I actually really love Harper’s Bazaar magazine. Although there are a lot of advertisements, I personally believe they are some of the best parts. There’s something so calming about flipping through a magazine of things you enjoy. And the September Issue is huge so that’s amazing.

9. Last, but not least, I have my notebook. I’ve had this notebook since Fall 2013 because that is when I really started to get into fashion. I use this as my inspiration book. Any page or picture from a magazine or online, I will print out and stick in this book. And it is almost empty so I should probably go invest in a new one.

These are all the personal reading materials I brought to college! I honestly don’t know if this was and interesting post but I just had to take a break from my dorm tour because that’s going to be a long one.

-Carolyn

BUY BOOKS HERE:

How to Live Like a Lady

Meal in a Mug

How to be Parisian Wherever You Are

It by Alexa Chung

Secret Paris: Color Your Way to Calm

Leave a Reply

