My Style Inspirations

I crave effortless style. I love the falling out of bed, putting on a pair of jeans, a white t-shirt, and pony tail and looking fabulous. Of course only few can do that and look incredible, but I will do whatever it takes to get there. In order to never lose sight of what I want my own style to look like, I look towards the styles of people who just know exactly how to dress, and take inspiration from them. So, without further ado, here is my list of style inspirations.

Alexa Chung

Alexa Chung is probably my main inspiration while trying to cultivate my own style and way of thinking. Not that I try and copy her lifestyle, but the way she thinks things through and the way she’s sees life is so unique. Also, any person who likes wearing flats and sneakers over high heels is an inspiration to me. I believe everyone should read her book, IT . It’s filled with her own style inspirations as well as where she found her love of fashion. The photography and stories she tells are beautiful. Additionally, if you are more interested in the field of fashion, whether it be the business or creative side, I HIGHLY recommend watching her two documentaries on youtube called “The Future of Fashion with Alexa Chung”. It’s so entertaining and honestly so, so interesting.

It, by Alexa Chung

ALSO here’s a look at my favorite Alexa Chung outfits!

Cropped Kick Flares ftw.:

Dakota Johnson

Honestly, whenever I see a picture of Dakota Johnson it just kills me. But, definitely in a good way. She just looks like she lives the Parisian lifestyle every day of her life and that’s someone I could roll with. Striped shirts, rolled jeans, leather jacket, and round glasses. Someone just please get me her wardrobe.

Favorite Dakota Looks!

Chloë Sevigny

Beautiful. Just. Beautiful. Like, oh my god, I just want everything she wears. I was first introduced to Chloë Sevigny when I watched “American Psycho” and thought her character’s style was just really cute. As I started to notice her more and more in magazines and adverts, her style just really stuck out to me as that effortless, Parisian chic.

My Favorite Chloë outfits!

Florence Welch

Florence Welch is a woodland princess who has the power of controlling nature with her voice and forever has a fawn following her and napping at her feet. At least that’s what I picture her life to be. And her style depicts exactly that. I love love love love love love love her. She’s effortless in her own way and (like my next and last icon) takes a lot of inspiration fro the 60s and 70s, which I low-key love.

Beautiful Florence Outfits!

Penny Lane

Now. Technically Penny Lane isn’t a “real” person, but Kate Hudson’s character in Almost Famous is my absolute favorite. Her style is that 60s hippie, rocker chic vibe that just looks so good.

Penny Lane outfits!

SO these are my main fashion inspirations at the moment! Each one I find incredibly unique and I’m really looking to reinvent my wardrobe and get rid of pieces that don’t match the direction in which I want my life to be going. After all, dress for the job you want, not the job you have.

-Carolyn

**Note: None of these photos are mine! All are off of Pinterest.

One thought on “My Style Inspirations

Leave a Reply

